Skip to content


Who Is the Law Minister

The Ministry of Law and Justice of the Government of India is a Cabinet ministry responsible for the administration of legal affairs, legislative activity and the administration of justice in India through its three departments, namely the Legislative Department and the Department of Legal Affairs and the Department of Justice. respectively. The Department of Legal Affairs is responsible for advising the various ministries of central government, while the Legislative Department participates in the drafting of key legislation for the central government. The Ministry is headed by the Minister of Law and Justice, Kiren Rijiju, who is appointed by the President of India on the recommendation of the Prime Minister of India. [1] [2] The first Minister of Justice of independent India was Dr. B. R. Ambedkar, who served in the cabinet of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru in 1947/51. The Indian Government (Distribution of Cases) Rules 1961 include the various departments under the Ministry of Law and Justice of the Government of India. With regard to these rules, the ministry consists of the following departments:[3] New Law The Central Board of Direct Taxation (CBDT) is part of the Revenue Department within the Ministry of Finance of the Government of India. [24] The CBDT provides essential inputs for direct tax policy and planning in India and is also responsible for the administration of direct tax laws by the Income Tax Department. The CBDT is a statutory body that operates under the Central Revenue Board Act 1963.It is the official entity of India`s FATF. The Central Board of Revenue, the central body of the Ministry responsible for tax administration, was established as a result of the Central Revenue Board Act 1924.

Initially, the board of directors was responsible for direct and indirect taxes. However, when the administration of taxes became too cumbersome for a single council, the council was split into two parts, namely the Central Board of Direct Taxes and the Central Board of Excise and Customs, with effect from 1 January 1964. This ramification was caused by the formation of two councils u/s 3 of the Central Boards of Revenue Act 1963. The Ministry of Justice and Justice is the oldest part of the Indian government dating back to 1833, when the Charter Act 1833 was passed by the British Parliament when India was under British control. For the first time, the Act conferred legislative authority on a single authority, namely the Governor General in Council. Under this power and the authority conferred on him by section 22 of the Indian Councils Act, 1861, the Governor General of the Council enacted laws for the country from 1834 to 1920. Following the enactment of the Government of India Act, 1919, legislative power was exercised by the Indian Legislature, which was constituted under that Act. The Government of India Act 1919 was followed by the Government of India Act 1935. With the enactment of the Indian Independence Act 1947, India became a «Dominion» and the Dominion Legislature enacted laws from 1947 to 1949 under the provisions of Section 100 of the Government of India Act 1935, as amended by the India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947. When the Constitution of India came into force on January 26, 1950, legislative power was then transferred to the Indian Parliament.

[1] A bill to protect individuals against invasion of their privacy through the processing of personal data. Provision should be made for procedures. The Legislative Department is primarily concerned with the preparation of all major laws of the central Government, namely: bills to be introduced in Parliament, regulations issued by the President, measures taken as acts of the President for states under the President, and regulations issued by the President for Union Territories. It also deals with electoral laws, namely the Representation of the People Act of 1950 and the Representation of the People Act of 1951. In addition, it is also responsible for dealing with certain issues relating to List III of the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution, such as human rights, contractual evidence, etc. The Department is also responsible for updating legislation passed by Parliament. The Allocation of Business Rules defines the following functions to be performed by this Ministry:[5] The Ministry of Justice performs the administrative functions relating to the appointment of various judges in different courts in India, the maintenance and revision of the conditions and rules governing the service of judges and other related matters. The assignment of business rules defines the following functions to be performed by this department[5]: The legal department has two main missions: advice and litigation.

[4] Specifically, the Division is assigned the following functions:[5] The Department`s main secretariat is located in New Delhi. It also maintains branch secretariats in the cities of Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and Bangalore. [4] The Department of Law and Justice is an advisory organization that provides legal and constitutional services to all federal and state government offices. Learn more.