The Utah Code (UC) governs the state`s street laws. It`s unclear whether or not Utah has rules for replacing engines or changing engine power. Whether you live in Utah or are planning to move to Utah and have a modified vehicle, you need to make sure it complies with state laws. The following information will help you keep your car or truck legal on the road when driving in Utah. It`s unclear whether Utah`s street laws allow for the installation of auxiliary lights in addition to headlights and taillights. Utah laws do not specify whether windshields are mandatory or not. However, vehicles equipped with windscreens must be equipped with windscreen wipers. Type I and Type II ATVs can be modified to be allowed on the road and on designated public roads. For more information on the requirements, visit the Utah Highway Patrol website. If a vehicle`s track width has been changed, Utah requires muddy fenders and flaps to be extended to cover the entire width of the tires. Tints or transparent materials applied to the windows immediately to the left or right of the driver`s seat are illegal if they allow light transmission of less than 43%. (Front left/right window).
The right side mirror should not be missing when a window is tinted. The tint of the windows on the windows behind the driver can be as dark as desired. Further detailed information can be found in the «PLT Safety Inspection Manual» All vehicle tyres must be safe and free of exposed bulges and cords. Utah requires a minimum tread depth of 1/16 inch. Tire grooves are not included in the code. Must match the light colors specified in the chat in the «PLT Safety Inspection Manual» Each ATV (ATV, ATV, motorcycle or snowmobile) must have an up-to-date PHEV registration sticker. Most non-resident ORV operators must obtain a non-resident ORV license for each ATV, UTV, OHM and snowmobile they bring into the state. These permits are available from providers located near popular PHEV destinations and online.
A complete list of suppliers is available from the Utah State Office of Parks and Recreation. Learn more about ORV registration in Utah All vehicles driven in Utah are limited to a maximum width of 102 inches, a maximum height of 14 feet and a single vehicle length of 45 feet. Utah has no requirements for classic cars. However, original old plates can be used, as long as they do not use numbers already rotating on another plate. It is illegal to attach lifting blocks to the front suspension of a vehicle driven in Utah. All suspension cylinders mounted at the rear of a vehicle shall consist of one piece. Utah has a law limiting the height of the vehicle frame based on the vehicle`s GVWR. In addition, the lowest part of the vehicle floor must not be more than 3 inches above the top of the frame. Less than 4,500 GVWR – 23 inches maximum frame height A licensed non-resident driver on highways in another state may only operate as a legal ATV on the street in Utah if that state reciprocates to an ATV authorized for the Utah highway on the other state`s highways. The non-resident operator, which is reciprocal with Utah, must have the necessary Utah equipment before it can operate as a road-certified ATV. Utah requires vehicles to have brakes that can stop the vehicle at a speed of 20 mph at less than 40 feet.
A secondary mechanical parking brake is also required. In Utah, silencers are mandatory. Exhaust stops are prohibited. Only Davis, Salt Lake and Weber counties currently require emissions testing in Utah. Bumpers are needed in Utah. All bumpers must be at least 4.5 inches high. Get to know the requirements – OHV-Street-Legal-Code-5.8.18.pdf. While Utah doesn`t limit suspension and shock heights, frame height is regulated based on gross vehicle weight (GVWR). Rear tires must have the top 50% of the tire covered with mud flaps, fenders or body construction. The rear flaps shall aim directly at the tyre and be at least as wide as the tyre.